Is Your Multi-Family Property in Compliance with the Water Submetering Law?
• Signed by the Governor 9/25/2016
• SB7 - Chapter 623 requires submetering in all new construction multi-family dwellings after 1/1/18.
• The bill requires tenants to be billed on actual usage, no estimates or allocations.
• Leaks must be repaired by management within 21 days.
• Goal is to hold tenants accountable and encourage conservation while providing consumer protection.
• Product selection & payback analysis
• Engineering design and layout of meter system
• Contractor Training & Certification
• Coordination of local county meter approval and sealing process
California recently passed Senate Bill SB7 which encourages responsible water use and conservation by requiring water meters and submeters in new apartment and other multi-family residential buildings.
SB7 requires owners of multi-unit residential properties constructed after January 1, 2018 to provide residents with accurate information about the volume and cost of their water use through their own individual submeters. The bill also requires residents to be billed for water based on actual usage and not estimation or other methodology.
"Eighty percent of 15.6 million Californians living in apartments or other multi-family housing facilities are not billed for their water use, meaning nearly a third of the state's population doesn't know how much water they're using or how much they are charged based on their use," said Senator Lois Wolk. "Given the extent of the drought and the need for greater water conservation in California, all of the state's residents should be armed with the knowledge of how much water they're using to help them reduce their water waste."
1. California Approved Installers
* Option 1 - Contractor licensed by the State License Board who employs at least one journey person who has graduated from a state approved apprenticeship program.
* Option 2 - Contractor must be a Registered Service Agency.
- Licensed California Contractor
- Application with $35.00 fee
- 2-Hour Online Test
- H2O Degree can train & lead you through this simple process
2. Select a California Approved Meter - CTEP/CDFA
3. H2O Degree ships meters to local County Weights & Measures office for sealing
- Typically a $5 fee per meter
- 10% random testing
- Timing can average 8 weeks
- Can try other counties for sealing
4. H2O/Contractor coordinates shipping/pick up of meters from local county sealing office
5. Install meters in compliance with California installation standards